Tulum City GuideAn Independent City Guide Map
Hands paying pesos in cash at a jungle park ticket window near Tulum, Tulum Mexico

Tulum Entrance Fees and Tickets

Tulum entrance fees are simple once you know two things: almost every gate takes cash in pesos, and almost none of them sells a ticket online. This page collects what each one charges, with the page it was read from and the date, so you can carry the right money and stop guessing. The pages behind each figure sit in the Tulum city guide (see what to do in Tulum).

Quick answer Every gate price, and how you pay it

A foreign adult pays MX$265 at the Tulum ruins, MX$210 at Cobá, MX$145 at Muyil, a MX$225 quota for Sian Ka'an and MX$400 at Cenote Dos Ojos. Most other cenotes publish nothing and take cash only. The ruins, Cobá, Muyil and the reserve quota come to MX$845 together, about $50.

Key takeaways

  • The one figure worth knowing before you argue at a window: INAH's unified fee of MX$265 already includes the CONANP charge and the Parque del Jaguar fee
  • Only Parque Dos Ojos sells online and takes cards; the cenote index marks the gates that publish no price at all
  • Sundays are free at every INAH zone for Mexican nationals and foreign residents — foreign visitors pay the same seven days a week
  • Two activities cannot be bought at a gate at any price: the Akumal turtle circuits and the Sian Ka'an float both require an authorised guide

Every gate around Tulum, with the page it came from

Read from the agency or operator that charges it. Peso figures are the official ones; dollar approximations use the European Central Bank reference rate, US$1 = MX$16.95. Where nothing is published, the row says so rather than repeating a figure from a blog.

Gate Foreign adult Mexican or resident Published by
Tulum ruins — unified fee MX$265 MX$80 INAH
Cobá MX$210 MX$105 INAH
Muyil MX$145 MX$80 INAH
Sian Ka'an — reserve quota MX$225 MX$225 CONANP
Parque Nacional Tulum — quota MX$125 MX$125 CONANP
Cenote Dos Ojos MX$400 MX$400 Parque Dos Ojos
Cenote Nicte-Ha / Jaguar, same park MX$300 / MX$350 MX$300 / MX$350 Parque Dos Ojos
Gran Cenote, Calavera, Zacil-Ha, Casa Cenote Not published — cash Not published — cash Nobody

One contradiction is worth carrying with you: CONANP publishes MX$125 for the national park at the ruins while INAH publishes MX$265 as a unified fee that already includes it, and an operator's listing quotes MX$511. All three were read on the same day; the ruins ticket page sets them side by side and explains which one governs the window.

When a tour is cheaper than the gates

Below the price of the entrance fees plus a taxi, a shared day is simply cheaper. These six are the ones where that arithmetic works.

Swimmers in a jungle cenote on a Tulum ruins and two-cenote half-day tour, Tulum Mexico from $26.09

Riviera Maya: Tulum Ruins, Mariposa & Chen-Ha Half-Day Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.4(1,159 reviews)· 8 - 8.5 hours

The cheapest way to pair the ruins with two cenote swims — hotel pickup, a guided walk, then Mariposa and Chen-Ha. Biggest review count here.

Check Availability
The Nohoch Mul pyramid rising from the forest at Cobá on a Tulum and Cobá day tour, Tulum Mexico from $45

Riviera Maya: Tulum, Coba & Cenote Tour: Transport & buffet

8 hours

Two archaeological zones and a cenote swim in one day with hotel pickup and a buffet — the cheapest full day on this page.

Check Availability
Light shaft falling into an open cenote on a three-cenote exploration tour, Tulum Mexico from $165

Tulum: Cenote Exploration Tour with Lunch and Snorkeling

5.5 hours

Three cenotes in one afternoon with transport, life vests and a traditional lunch — one booking instead of three cash gates and a taxi.

Check Availability
The Castillo temple in the forest at Muyil before the Sian Ka'an lagoon float, Tulum Mexico from $169

From Tulum: Sian Ka’an Muyil Lagoon Tour

6 hours

Muyil's temples first, then the boat and the float, with every entrance fee bundled into one price. Three separate cash payments avoided.

Check Availability
Guided snorkelling group above the seagrass in the protected circuit at Akumal Bay, Tulum Mexico from $37.39

Akumal Beach: VIP Sea Turtle Swim, Guided Snorkeling + GoPro Photos

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.6(356 reviews)· 1.5 hours

Wristband entry, a local licensed guide, lockers and GoPro photos. Book the first slot: the bay is calmest and the guides put fewer people in.

Check Availability
El Castillo pyramid at Chichén Itzá on a day trip from Tulum, Tulum Mexico from $90

From Tulum: Chichen Itza, Cenote & Valladolid Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.6(369 reviews)· 12 hours

The long day inland — Chichén Itzá, a cenote swim and an hour in Valladolid, with buffet lunch and pickup. Twelve hours door to door.

Check Availability

Prices, ratings and details are the platform's own. Dollar figures are the listed prices. The platform bills in your account's currency.

How you actually pay, gate by gate

The payment method is the part that trips people up here, more than the price.

The INAH gates — the ruins, Cobá, Muyil — take cash and cards, and print a ticket that itemises what you paid for. Keep it: it is the only proof of what was charged. CONANP's quotas at Sian Ka'an and the national park are collected in cash at the gate or the lagoon. Parque Dos Ojos is the outlier that behaves like a modern attraction: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Carnet, Discover, OXXO, bank transfer or cash, with online booking and a QR code by email.

Everywhere else is cash in pesos. The cenote gates on the Cobá road, the boat at the Muyil lagoon, the parking, the bicycle hire, the tips: all of it. The ATMs in town charge a per-withdrawal fee and the machines on the beach road charge more, so draw money once, in the town, and carry small notes — a MX$500 note at a cenote hut is a problem.

GateCashCardOnline in advance
Tulum ruins (INAH)YesYesNo — no official web ticket exists
Cobá, Muyil (INAH)YesYesNo
Sian Ka'an, Parque Nacional Tulum (CONANP)YesNot statedNo
Parque Dos OjosYesYesYes, with a QR code and a 48-hour refund
Other cenotesYes, onlyNoNo

Who pays less, and on which day

Mexico's federal rules do most of the discounting, and they apply at every archaeological zone in the country rather than site by site.

Mexican nationals and foreign residents of Mexico pay roughly half at the INAH gates — MX$80 at the ruins and Muyil, MX$105 at Cobá — on presentation of ID, and enter free on Sundays. INAH's national exemptions also cover children under 13, students, teachers and INAPAM cardholders with ID.

What is not stated anywhere is whether those exemptions extend to the park share of the unified fee at the ruins, or to the CONANP quotas, so this site does not print a figure for them: ask at the window. At Parque Dos Ojos the rule is the park's own — under 4 free, 4 to 12 reduced, adult from 13.

For a foreign visitor there is no discount card, no city pass and no combined ticket on this coast. The only real saving is structural: a shared day that bundles two gates, transport and lunch, which is what the tour comparison above is for.

What a week of gates costs

Worked from the table above, for one foreign adult, entrance fees only — no transport, no guide, no food.

Entrance fees only, for one foreign adult — no transport, no guide, no food. Against a single dinner behind the dune, this is the argument this site keeps making: in Tulum the sights are cheap and the lifestyle is not.

Trip lengthGatesTotal in pesosAbout
Three nightsRuins, one cenote, the reserveMX$890$53
Four nightsAdd CobáMX$1,100$65
Five nightsAdd MuyilMX$1,245$73
Each extra cash cenoteNot published anywhereMX$300–500$18–30

Why the cenotes are the wildcard

The gates that publish nothing are the ones that can surprise you, and they take cash. Budget in the range above, carry it in notes of MX$100 and MX$200, and draw it in the town rather than on the beach road, where the machines charge more.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure on this page is a figure somebody published, or it is labelled as not published.

The archaeological prices come from INAH's own zone pages, the reserve and national-park quotas from CONANP's Áreas Naturales Protegidas site, and the cenote prices from Parque Dos Ojos's own booking pages. Each was read, and each page on this site carries the date its own figures were read rather than a single site-wide stamp.

Mexican federal agencies republish their tariffs each January, so a figure read in August is a figure read in August. Where two official sources disagree, both appear here with the reason we follow one of them. Where a gate publishes nothing at all — which is most of the cenotes around Tulum — the row says so, and no number is invented to fill it.

The pages behind these numbers

Each gate has a page that explains what the fee buys and what it does not.

Tulum ruins tickets

Why guides still quote MX$515, who pays less, where the parking is, and when a tour beats the gate. The ticket page carries all three published figures.

MX$265, one unified payment

Read the full guide

Tulum cenotes

Nine cenotes numbered to a map with the cash gates marked. Only Dos Ojos publishes a tariff and takes cards.

MX$300–400, mostly cash

Read the full guide

Things to do in Tulum

The same gates sorted by what they cost you in hours and road rather than in pesos — the things-to-do list is the planning version of this page.

Twelve, priced and timed

Read the full guide

Tulum entrance fees: the questions people ask

How much are entrance fees in Tulum?

For a foreign adult: MX$265 at the ruins, MX$210 at Cobá, MX$145 at Muyil, a MX$225 quota for Sian Ka'an and MX$400 at Cenote Dos Ojos. Most other cenotes publish nothing and take cash — the table above marks which is which.

Can you buy Tulum tickets online?

Barely. INAH sells no official online ticket for the Tulum archaeological zone, and CONANP does not sell the reserve quota in advance. The one exception is Parque Dos Ojos, which sells by cenote and date and sends a QR code. Everything else you pay at the window.

Do the gates around Tulum take cards?

The INAH gates do, and so does Parque Dos Ojos. CONANP's quotas and every unpublished cenote gate are cash in pesos, as are parking, boats and bicycle hire. The payment table sets out which is which — draw cash in the town rather than on the beach road.

Is there a Tulum city pass or a combined ticket?

No. There is no pass, no discount card and no combined ticket on this coast for a foreign visitor. The only structural saving is a shared tour that bundles two gates with transport and lunch, which for the ruins with two cenotes is listed below the price of a taxi.

Why do some sites say the ruins cost MX$515?

Because they were written when three bodies collected three separate charges at that entrance. INAH now publishes one unified fee of MX$265 that it states covers the CONANP charge and the Parque del Jaguar fee, and one operator listing still quotes MX$511 — all reproduced on the ruins ticket page.

Do children pay at the gates around Tulum?

At INAH sites, national rules exempt children under 13 with ID, along with students, teachers and INAPAM cardholders. At Parque Dos Ojos, under 4 is free and 4 to 12 is reduced. Whether the exemptions extend to the park share of the unified fee is not stated by either agency, so ask at the window.

How much is it to swim in a cenote?

Only one park near Tulum publishes a figure: Parque Dos Ojos charges MX$400 for Dos Ojos itself, MX$350 for Jaguar, MX$300 for Nicte-Ha, MX$1,200 for a guided visit to several and MX$1,800 for El Pit with a diving certification. Everywhere else — Gran Cenote, Calavera, Zacil-Ha, Casa Cenote — the gate is a cash window with no price posted in advance, so budget MX$300 to MX$400 and carry it in notes (which is which).

What does a taxi across Tulum cost?

There is no answer we will print, because there is no meter and no municipal tariff a visitor can consult. The fare is what the driver quotes and you accept, and it changes with the hour, the direction and where you are standing — the beach road is dearer than the town. Agree the number in pesos for the whole car before the door closes; a hotel desk's quote is that hotel's arrangement rather than a rate, but it makes a useful benchmark (the five ways to move).

How much do you have to spend at a beach club?

No club on the Tulum beach road publishes a rate. What you agree to is a minimum consumption on the bed or table you take — a sum you spend on food and drink rather than an entry fee — and it varies by the position of the bed, the day and the season. Ask for the figure for that specific bed before you sit down; the sand itself is public and free under Mexican law (how the minimum works, the free beaches).

Carry pesos, and know which gate takes a card

The ruins, Cobá, Muyil and the reserve quota come to MX$845. Where a bundled tour costs less than the fees plus a taxi, it is on the list above.

Official agency links on this page carry no tracking; tour prices are the operator's and are confirmed at checkout.

Compare the bundled days

Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure